Story: Protected areas

New Zealand protected areas, 2015

There are eight main categories of protected area in New Zealand, including national parks, various types of reserves, and land conserved for specific purposes. At 30 September 2015 there were over 10,000 protected areas, covering more than 8.6 million hectares – about 32% of New Zealand.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Department of Conservation

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Les Molloy, 'Protected areas - New Zealand’s protected areas', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 April 2024)

Story by Les Molloy, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 1 Sep 2015