Story: Te Tau Ihu tribes

Whakatū marae

Whakatū marae

Whakatū marae, one of seven marae in the region, is a sign of the revival of Nelson–Marlborough’s eight tribes. Along with new marae projects they are developing educational and health facilities; they also provide training programmes, and have developed significant commercial fishing and aquaculture businesses.

Using this item

Department of Internal Affairs, Nelson

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Hilary Mitchell and John Mitchell, 'Te Tau Ihu tribes - Modern revival', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 27 March 2023)

Story by Hilary Mitchell and John Mitchell, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2017