Story: Labour Party

Jacinda Ardern

Smiling Jacinda Ardern standing at lectern wearing Māori cloak

Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern speaks at Waitangi in February 2020. Under Ardern’s leadership, Labour won all seven Māori electorates in 2017 and retained six of them in 2020, when Labour’s Māori caucus increased in size to a record 14 members.

Using this item

Radio New Zealand – Te Reo Irirangi o Aotearoa

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Peter Aimer, 'Labour Party - Fourth, fifth and sixth Labour governments', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 June 2024)

Story by Peter Aimer, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Jan 2023