Story: Hutchins, Leslie

Guardians of the lakes

Guardians of the lakes

In 1973 Prime Minister Norman Kirk named Les Hutchins one of the Guardians of Lakes Manapōuri, Monowai and Te Anau. Here he reunites with the other original trustees in 1994. Left to right, Wilson Campbell, Professor (later Sir) Alan Mark, John Moore, Jim McFarlane and Hutchins. 

Using this item

Otago Daily Times

Permission of the Otago Daily Times must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

How to cite this page:

Margaret McClure. 'Hutchins, Leslie', Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, first published in 2022. Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 July 2024)