Story: Arts and the nation

Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement, 2012

 Prime Minister's Awards for Literary Achievement, 2012

Gregory O'Brien (far left, non-fiction), Sam Hunt (second from left, poetry) and Albert Wendt (far right, fiction) are shown with Prime Minister John Key (second from right), after he had presented them with awards in recognition of their outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature. The awards were established in 2003 and each year three authors are honoured with an award of $60,000. The Prime Minister's Awards are one of a growing number of prizes and forms of financial support for writers and creative artists that public agencies such as Creative New Zealand sponsor.

Using this item

Creative New Zealand: Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'Arts and the nation - The nation accepts the arts, 1940 onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 April 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, published 22 Oct 2014