Story: Awards and prizes

Arts Laureate awards, 2005

Arts Laureate awards, 2005

The Arts Laureate awards were established by the privately funded Arts Foundation in 2000. This photograph shows the 2005 laureates – from left, dancer Neil Ieremia, poet Bill Manhire, visual artist Julia Morison, opera singer Simon O'Neill and visual artist Ronnie van Hout. Each of them received $50,000 and one of the bronze statuettes in the foreground. Designed by sculptor Terry Stringer, the statuette represents applause for an artist's achievements.

Using this item

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 101105NZHBPARTSAWARD1.JPG
Photograph by Brett Phibbs

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mark Derby, 'Awards and prizes - General and international awards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 September 2023)

Story by Mark Derby, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Apr 2020