Story: Awards and prizes

Serial literary award-winner Lloyd Jones, 2007

Serial literary award-winner Lloyd Jones, 2007

Wellington author Lloyd Jones, seen here in 2007, has won or been nominated  for many of New Zealand's and the world's leading literary awards, including the Deutz Medal for Fiction, 2001 (for The book of fame); the New Zealand Post Picture Book Award, 2004 (Napoleon and the chicken farmer); the Commonwealth Writers' Prize, 2007 (Mister Pip); the Man Booker Prize shortlist, 2007 (Mister Pip); the Creative New Zealand Berlin Writers' Residency (2007); and the Prime Minister's Award for Literary Achievement (2008).

Using this item

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 270707NZHGPJJONES02.JPG
Photograph by Glenn Jeffrey

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mark Derby, 'Awards and prizes - Literary awards, 1950s onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 August 2022)

Story by Mark Derby, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Apr 2020