Story: History and historians

Inaugural Māori book award winners

Inaugural Māori book award winners

In 2009 Massey University initiated a new set of awards – Ngā Kupu Ora Māori Book Awards – to recognise Māori writing and history. The first winners, shown here, included a number of Māori who had made a substantial contribution to Māori history. Ranginui Walker (bottom left) was formerly professor of anthropology and Māori studies at Auckland University,  and his 1990 book Ka whawhai tonu mātou: struggle without end was the first history of New Zealand from a Māori perspective and has been much reprinted. He subsequently wrote an outstanding biography of Apirana Ngata. On this occasion he was being honoured for his biography of carver Paki Harrison. Malcolm Mulholland (top left) was given an award for his comprehensive illustrated history of Māori rugby, Beneath the Māori moon. Monty Soutar's (top right) Nga tama toa: the price of citizenship, a history of C Company 28 (Māori) Battalion, was based on exhaustive research and oral histories with veterans of the battalion. Deidre Brown (bottom right) won the art, architecture and design category with her book Māori architecture: from fale to wharenui and beyond, a pioneering study of the history of Māori architecture. The other winners shown are Margaret Kawharu (top centre), who accepted an award for her sister Merata, for her book Tāhuhu kōrero: the sayings of Taitokerau, and Ngahuia Te Awekotuku and Linda Nikora (bottom centre) with their book, Mau moko: the world of Māori tattoo.

Using this item

Massey News

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'History and historians - New types of historical writing since 1970', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 February 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, published 22 Oct 2014