Story: Digital media and the internet

Creative Commons

Creative Commons

Creative Commons was founded in California in 2001 to promote a set of licences which would allow for re-use of digital material within clear principles. A New Zealand branch, Creative Commons Aotearoa New Zealand, was set up in 2007. It provides six types of licence and encourages organisations to adopt one of the licences according to their preferences for the conditions of re-use. This poster outlines the conditions of the six licences.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Russell Brown, 'Digital media and the internet - Law and regulation', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 April 2024)

Story by Russell Brown, published 22 Oct 2014