Story: Fiction

An angel at my table

An angel at my table

Janet Frame's life was memorialised in the 1990 film An angel at my table, which was based on her three autobiographies, To the is-land (1982), An angel at my table (1984) and The envoy from mirror city (1985). Here Frame (back) poses with the three actors who played her in the film – from left, Karen Fergusson, Alexia Keogh and Kerry Fox. 

Using this item

Hibiscus Films

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Lydia Wevers, 'Fiction - Janet Frame', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 September 2022)

Story by Lydia Wevers, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Aug 2015