Story: Fiction

Maurice Shadbolt, 1970s

Maurice Shadbolt, 1970s

Maurice Shadbolt is best known for his historical fiction, most notably his trilogy on the New Zealand wars: Season of the Jew (1985), Monday's warriors (1990) and The house of strife (1993). Shadbolt's first book was a collection of short stories, The New Zealanders (1959), and his first novel was Among the cinders (1965).

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Alastair Grant Collection
Reference: PAColl-8110
Photograph by Alastair Grant

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Lydia Wevers, 'Fiction - New writers after the Second World War', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 May 2022)

Story by Lydia Wevers, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Aug 2015