Story: Powered water sports



Graham Weller is shown here on a practice run in his hydroplane G-Force on Lake Karāpiro, November 2010. Weller won the A. E. Baker Cup in G-Force in 2009 and 2011, and in 2010 he won the E. C. Griffith Cup in the competition that is regarded as the Australasian power-boat racing championship. Weller’s win came 100 years after the first E. C. Griffith Cup race.

Using this item

Waikato Times
Reference: 18 November 2010
Photograph by Mark Taylor

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Peter Clayworth, 'Powered water sports - Power-boat racing', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 8 July 2022)

Story by Peter Clayworth, published 5 Sep 2013