Story: Irish

The Union Jack in Belfast

The Union Jack in Belfast

In 1921 Ireland was divided into two: Eire (now the Republic of Ireland), with a capital in Dublin, and northern Ireland, with a capital in Belfast. Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom, while the Republic of Ireland is independent. Despite continuing conflict between the south and the north, the Union Jack (the flag of the United Kingdom) still flies over the town hall in Belfast.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photograph by Jock Phillips

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'Irish - Understanding the Irish conflict', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 16 April 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2015