Story: Rugby league

New Zealand Māori team, 1909

New Zealand Māori team, 1909

The New Zealand Māori team of 1909 returned from its Australian tour with the O. T. Punch cup, the oldest rugby-league trophy in existence in New Zealand, after winning three of the five matches scheduled in Sydney. Players are shown here with chiefs Hōne Taoai Hetet and Hekemaru Kaiawha, and Rotorua guides Mākereti (Maggie) Papakura and her half-sister Murai (Bella).

Using this item

Huia Publishers
Reference: John Coffey and Bernie Wood, 100 years Maori rugby league 1908-2008. Wellington: Huia, p. 42

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Courtesy of State Library of New South Wales

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Coffey, 'Rugby league - Rugby league players', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 August 2020)

Story by John Coffey, published 5 Sep 2013