Story: Cricket

New Zealand and Australian one-day teams, 1982

New Zealand and Australian one-day teams, 1982

In 1979 entrepreneur Kerry Packer established a rebel form of professional one-day cricket which featured coloured clothing and night games under lights. When the cricket authorities responded to this challenge by accepting a fully commercial game, some of Packer's innovations were adopted, including coloured clothing. Here at Eden Park in February 1982 the New Zealand team shows off their beige while the Australian team sports bright yellow. Back row from left are: Alan Crompton (manager), Jeff Thomson, Graeme Wood, Terry Alderman, Ray Bright, Dennis Lillee, Allan Border, Bruce Yardley, Martin Snedden, Gary Troup, Ewen Chatfield, John Wright, John Reid, Bruce Edgar and Frank Cameron (manager). Front row from left are: Len Pascoe, John Dyson, Bruce Laird, Rod Marsh, Kim Hughes, Greg Chappell (Australian captain), Geoff Howarth (New Zealand captain), Richard Hadlee, Lance Cairns, Martin Crowe, Jeremy Coney and Ian Smith.

Using this item

Private collection, Don Neely
Photograph by Don Neely

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Don Neely, 'Cricket - One-day cricket', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 April 2024)

Story by Don Neely, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Apr 2016