Story: Cricket

New Zealand cricket team, 1981

New Zealand cricket team, 1981

The New Zealand team looks happy on the way to defeating India by 62 runs at the Basin Reserve, Wellington, in February 1981. The team members are from left: John F. Reid, Geoff Howarth (captain), Lance Cairns, Jock Edwards, Ian Smith, Bruce Edgar, Richard Hadlee, Martin Snedden, Jeremy Coney, John Wright and Gary Troup. With the addition by 1984 of the Crowe brothers (Jeff and Martin) and Ewen Chatfield, this team was particularly successful, especially at home, in the 1980s.

Using this item

Private collection, Don Neely
Photograph by Don Neely

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Don Neely, 'Cricket - Test cricket after 1980', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 April 2024)

Story by Don Neely, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Apr 2016