Story: Tōrangapū – Māori and political parties

Māori Party co-leaders, 2008

Māori Party co-leaders, 2008

Māori Party co-leaders Pita Sharples (left) and Tariana Turia sign a confidence and supply agreement with National Prime Minister John Key in 2008. The Māori Party was formed in 2004 following the resignation of Turia, then a government minister, from the Labour Party. The Māori Party (later Te Pāti Māori) won four seats in the 2005 general election, and it gave its support to National-led governments in 2008, 2011 and 2014.

Using this item

Dominion Post
Photograph by Maarten Holl

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ann Sullivan, 'Tōrangapū – Māori and political parties - National, New Zealand First, Māori and Mana parties', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 23 April 2024)

Story by Ann Sullivan, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 18 Jul 2016