Story: Tōrangapū – Māori and political parties

Māori MPs

Māori MPs

This photograph of four long-serving Māori MPs was probably taken in the early 1970s. From left they are Koro Wētere (Western Māori 1969–96), Matiu Rata (Northern Māori 1963–80), Whetū Tirikātene-Sullivan (Southern Māori 1967–96) and Paraone Reweti (Eastern Māori 1967–81).

Using this item

Archives New Zealand - Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga
Reference: AAMK W3495 31/B

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ann Sullivan, 'Tōrangapū – Māori and political parties - Rātana, Labour and Mana Motuhake', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 July 2024)

Story by Ann Sullivan, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 18 Jul 2016