Story: Asia and New Zealand

Meeting of Commonwealth prime ministers, London, 1948

Meeting of Commonwealth prime ministers, London, 1948

The photograph shows the prime ministers of the Commonwealth countries with King George VI on 13 October 1948. King George VI is fifth from the left. The prime ministers include Don Stephen Senanayake of Ceylon (second from left); Liaquat Ali Khan of Pakistan (third from left); Peter Fraser of New Zealand (second from right); and Jawaharlal Nehru of India (far right). With the independence of India, Pakistan and Ceylon, the white Commonwealth countries were joined by former colonies. Fraser welcomed the admission of the new nations to the Commonwealth. At the same time, he was careful not to draw attention to New Zealand's immigration policies, which still made it difficult for citizens of Asian countries to be accepted as immigrants.

Using this item

Archives New Zealand - Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga
Reference: MACDONALD3 10

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

David Capie, 'Asia and New Zealand - War, empire and the new Commonwealth', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 5 June 2023)

Story by David Capie, published 20 Jun 2012