Story: Africa and New Zealand

Springbok trophy, 1956 (3rd of 3)

Springbok trophy, 1956

After their loss to Waikato in the first game they played in New Zealand in 1956, the Springboks presented the Waikato team with the Springbok trophy shown here being trampled by ‘Mooloo’. The Springboks had dominated world rugby for decades, and had not lost a test series since 1896 when New Zealand beat them in 1956.

Using this item

Waikato Rugby Union

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Megan Cook, 'Africa and New Zealand - Colonists, soldiers and sportsmen: 1800s to 1940s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 May 2022)

Story by Megan Cook, published 20 Jun 2012