Story: Constitution

National Party and Māori Party leaders, 2008

National Party and Māori Party leaders, 2008

After the 2008 general election the National Party formed a minority government with the support of the Māori Party (later Te Pāti Māori), the ACT Party and the UnitedFuture Party. Here, John Key and other high-ranking National Party MPs are pictured with Māori Party leaders Tariana Turia and Pita Sharples after they met at Parliament to discuss support arrangements following the election.

Using this item

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 111108NZHMMMAORI12.JPG
Photograph by Mark Mitchell

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Matthew Palmer, 'Constitution - The rise and bridling of executive power', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 26 May 2024)

Story by Matthew Palmer, published 20 Jun 2012