Story: Constitution

Declaration of New Zealand's dominion status, 1907

Declaration of New Zealand's dominion status, 1907

Prime Minister Joseph Ward declares New Zealand's dominion status on the steps of Parliament on 26 September 1907. New Zealand ceased to be a colony and became a dominion within the British Empire. While the shift from colony to dominion had little practical effect – New Zealand was no more independent from Britain than it had been previously – it did convey an emerging sense of independent nationhood.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, The Press (Christchurch) Collection (PAColl-3031)
Reference: 1/1-008650-G

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Matthew Palmer, 'Constitution - Representative democracy and Parliament', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 8 June 2023)

Story by Matthew Palmer, published 20 Jun 2012