Story: Military medals

New Zealand Bravery Medal recipient Mark Taylor, 2011

New Zealand Bravery Medal recipient Mark Taylor, 2011

Bravery medals are primarily intended for civilians who place themselves at risk while saving or attempting to save the lives of others, but military personnel can also receive these awards when a gallantry award is not appropriate. Chief Petty Officer Mark Taylor (centre) received the New Zealand Bravery Medal in 2011 for his attempt to rescue Royal New Zealand Navy sailor Byron Solomon, who was trapped under an inflatable boat during a training exercise in 2007. Solomon drowned despite Taylor’s repeated efforts to rescue him.

Using this item

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 270711NZHBPBRAVERY10.JPG
Photograph by Brett Phibbs

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Military medals - Gallantry and bravery awards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 December 2021)

Story by Kerryn Pollock, published 20 Jun 2012