Story: Māori education – mātauranga

Young Māori Party members

Young Māori Party members

These members of Parliament were part of a group known as the Young Māori Party, which formed out of Te Aute College Students' Association. They are: James Carroll (top left), Apirana Ngata (top right), Peter Buck (Te Rangi Hīroa) (bottom left), and Māui Pōmare (bottom right). Ngata, Buck and Pōmare all attended Te Aute.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/2-050150-F (top left); 35mm-00094-D-F (top right); 35mm-00094-e-F (bottom left); 1/1-014583-G (bottom right)

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ross Calman, 'Māori education – mātauranga - Māori church boarding schools', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 23 April 2024)

Story by Ross Calman, published 20 Jun 2012