Story: Capital city

Wellington, New Zealand's third capital, 1866

Wellington, New Zealand's third capital, 1866

Wellington had fewer than 5,000 residents when it became the New Zealand capital in 1865. Pictured the following year, the town had a busy and accessible waterfront, which, though much changed, remains an attractive feature of the city in the early 2000s.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Alexander Fisher Album
Reference: PA1-f-021-042-3

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Stephen Levine, 'Capital city - A new capital', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 April 2024)

Story by Stephen Levine, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Aug 2016