Story: Parliament

The end of an era

The end of an era

The last Parliament elected under the first-past-the-post system is officially dissolved on the steps of Parliament Buildings on 6 September 1996. Hugo Judd, official secretary to the governor-general (seated), signs the proclamation, witnessed by (from left) Milton Hollard, clerk assistant; David McGee, clerk; Angela Hauk-Willis of the Department of Internal Affairs and Ailsa Salt, deputy clerk. This low-key ceremony marks the end of each Parliament.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Dominion Post Collection (PAColl-7327)
Reference: EP/1996/2600/32A-F
Photograph by Phil Reid

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John E. Martin, 'Parliament - Reform, 1980s onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 July 2022)

Story by John E. Martin, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2015