Story: Kotahitanga – unity movements

Māori councils: Maahunui Māori Council (1st of 3)

Māori councils: Maahunui Māori Council

Members of the Maahunui Māori Council, Kaiapoi, are shown here at the beginning of the 20th century. This council, like others around the country, was set up under legislation that empowered councils similar to traditional rūnanga. Back row: Teone P. Koruarua (Taumutu), Hoani T. Pere (Little River), J. H. W. Uru (Poutini, secretary), Apera P. Ruru (Port Levy), Teone Watene (Rāpaki). Front row: Tame E. Kiri (Kaiapoi), Henare Kahi (Temuka), Taituha Hape (Kaiapoi, chair), Teone Tikao Wira (Temuka), Tiemi Taare Rikiti (Waihoa).

Using this item

Christchurch City Libraries
Reference: CCL PhotoCD9, IMG0064

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Basil Keane, 'Kotahitanga – unity movements - Parliamentary unity movements, 1870 to 1900', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 18 July 2024)

Story by Basil Keane, published 20 Jun 2012