Story: Reserve Bank

First Reserve Bank board of directors, 1934

First Reserve Bank board of directors, 1934

The Reserve Bank opened for business in 1934. The Reserve Bank Act 1933 provided for a board of directors to manage the bank. The board consisted of a governor, a deputy governor and seven other members. This is the first, or foundation, board of directors, all of whom were appointed by Minister of Finance Gordon Coates. The first governor, Leslie Lefeaux, is at the head of the table. Secretary of the Treasury A. D. Park (to the right of Lefeaux) was a member of the board but could not vote.

Using this item

Reserve Bank of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Singleton, 'Reserve Bank - Origins and functions', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 26 May 2022)

Story by John Singleton, published 20 Jun 2012