Story: Ngā whakataunga tiriti – Treaty of Waitangi settlement process

Auckland volcanoes settlement

Auckland volcanoes settlement

The Auckland tribe of Ngāti Whātua, together with 11 other iwi in the greater Auckland region, signed a treaty settlement transferring ownership of three local maunga (volcanic peaks) in February 2010. This photograph shows (left to right) Minister of Māori Affairs Pita Sharples, Minister for Treaty Negotiations Christopher Finlayson and Ngāti Whātua o Ōrākei Māori Trust Board chair Grant Hawke signing the settlement deed. Hawke said the agreement created an opportunity to put in place a comprehensive protection programme for the maunga.

Using this item

NZPA Images
Reference: 78675
Photograph by Wayne Drought

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Richard S. Hill, 'Ngā whakataunga tiriti – Treaty of Waitangi settlement process - Problems for treaty settlements', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 July 2024)

Story by Richard S. Hill, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Apr 2023