Story: Ngā rōpū – Māori organisations

Members of Parliament

Members of Parliament

The members of Parliament who have been identified in this photograph are (front from left) Māui Pōmare, Apirana Ngata, and (fourth in row) James Carroll. They played important roles in the Young Māori Party, a 20th-century Māori organisation which sought to improve the well-being of Māori through political action.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, S. P. Andrew Collection (PAColl-3739)
Reference: 1/1-013678-G
Photograph by Stanley Polkinghorne Andrew

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Basil Keane, 'Ngā rōpū – Māori organisations - New Māori organisations, early 20th century', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 August 2022)

Story by Basil Keane, published 5 May 2011, updated 1 Jun 2017