Story: Kaumātua – Māori elders

Kaumātua and rūnanga: Maahunui Māori Council (4th of 4)

Kaumātua and rūnanga: Maahunui Māori Council

This is the Maahunui Māori Council at the beginning of the 20th century. The council was a government-sponsored forum which was similar to the traditional rūnanga (tribal council).

Back row: Teone P. Koruarua (Taumutu), Hoani T. Pere (Litte River), J. H. W. Uru (Poutini, secretary), Apera P. Ruru (Port Levy), Teone Watene (Rāpaki). Front row: Tame E. Kiri (Kaiapoi), Henare Kahi (Temuka), Taituha Hape (Kaiapoi, chair), Teone Tikao Wira (Temuka), Tiemi Taare Rikiti (Waihoa).

Using this item

Christchurch City Libraries
Reference: CCL PhotoCD 9, IMG0064

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rawinia Higgins and Paul Meredith, 'Kaumātua – Māori elders - Kaumātua and leadership', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 May 2022)

Story by Rawinia Higgins and Paul Meredith, published 5 May 2011