Story: Women’s movement

Tailoresses' conference, 1891

Tailoresses' conference, 1891

In 1891 the tailoresses’ unions held their first conference. Those attending were (from left) L. Ormand, E. McPherson, C. Griffin, Harriet Morison, M. Carnie, John Cleworth, E. A. Kingman, J. M. Dryden and M. M. Cook. They represented the Dunedin, Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland unions.

Using this item

Hocken Library, University of Otago
Reference: S10-062a

Permission of the Hocken Library Uare Taoka o Hakena, University of Otago, must be obtained before any re-use of this image. Further information may be obtained from the Library through its website.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Megan Cook, 'Women’s movement - Tailoresses’ unions', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 28 September 2021)

Story by Megan Cook, published 5 May 2011