Story: Anglican Church

Three archbishops, 2007

Three archbishops, 2007

The leading figures of the three arms of the Anglican Church work cooperatively and have spoken out together on public issues. In 2007 they were (from left) the Most Reverend William Brown Turei, Te Pihopa o Aotearoa; the Most Reverend David Moxon, archbishop of the dioceses; and the Most Reverend Jabez Bryce, archbishop of Polynesia. They are shown here singing in St Paul's Cathedral, Dunedin, where they opened the synod, or church council, and dedicated a new centre for the city's bishop and staff. 

Using this item

Otago Daily Times
Reference: 21 July 2007, p. 4
Photograph by Craig Baxter

Permission of the Otago Daily Times must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Allan K. Davidson, 'Anglican Church - Anglicans in the 20th and 21st centuries', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 July 2022)

Story by Allan K. Davidson, published 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 20 Apr 2018