Story: Law and the economy

House of Representatives

House of Representatives

The New Zealand Parliament consists of only a single chamber – the House of Representatives. In 1897, when this photograph was taken, a second chamber, the Legislative Council, also existed. However, it had little independent influence, as its members were mostly appointees of the government of the day. It was abolished in 1951.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/4-015178-F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Lewis Evans, 'Law and the economy - Setting the framework', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 1 December 2023)

Story by Lewis Evans, published 11 Mar 2010