Story: International economic relations

Bank of New South Wales, Napier, 1925

Bank of New South Wales, Napier, 1925

The Bank of New South Wales opened in Australia in 1817. The first New Zealand branch was established in 1861, and by the end of that year there were seven local branches. In 1982 the Bank of New South Wales merged with the Commercial Bank of Australia to form the Westpac Banking Corporation.

Using this item

Fletcher Challenge Archives
Reference: 6274P/37

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'International economic relations - Australia and New Zealand', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 September 2021)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, published 11 Mar 2010