Story: Canoe traditions

Garden of seven stones, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Garden of seven stones, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

In the early 20th century the varied Māori accounts of founding canoes were simplified into a belief in a Great Fleet of seven canoes (Tākitimu, Tokomaru, Kurahaupō, Aotea, Tainui, Te Arawa and Mataatua). This garden in Rarotonga with seven stones was constructed to represent the seven canoes.

Using this item

Private collection, Lois Farrow
Photograph by Lois Farrow

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rāwiri Taonui, 'Canoe traditions - The meaning of canoe traditions', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 April 2024)

Story by Rāwiri Taonui, published 8 Feb 2005