Story: Sports and leisure

Rugby districts (3rd of 3)

Rugby districts

In 1996 rugby became a professional game, and the result has been commercial promotion, all-seat stadiums, night-time games, extensive television coverage and well-paid stars. The Super 15 games, involving 15 teams from New Zealand, Australia and South Africa, pull the largest audiences. But the traditional provincial teams, whose colours are displayed on this souvenir tea towel, continue to attract a big following when they play in the national provincial championship.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photograph by Miranda Wells

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Teatowel © The Derek Corporation

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'Sports and leisure - Organised sports', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 30 May 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, updated 1 Sep 2015