Story: Selwyn, George Augustus

Five Anglican bishops, photographed probably in the early 1860s

A group of ministers in front of a tree, one seated and the rest standing.

Pioneering bishops of the Anglican church in New Zealand were George Augustus Selwyn, Henry John Chitty Harper, Charles John Abraham, and John Coleridge Patteson (standing, from left) and William Williams (seated, front).

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: PA2-2773

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

How to cite this page:

Warren E. Limbrick. 'Selwyn, George Augustus', Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, first published in 1990. Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 18 August 2022)