Story: Auckland region

World Cup champions

World Cup champions

All Black captain David Kirk holds the Webb Ellis trophy in victory after New Zealand won the inaugural World Cup at Eden Park in 1987. The event has been held every four years since then, with New Zealand winning in 2011 and again in 2015.

Using this item

New Zealand Herald

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Margaret McClure, 'Auckland region - Sport and leisure', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 31 May 2023)

Story by Margaret McClure, updated 1 Aug 2016