Story: Tauranga Moana

Boundaries of Tauranga tribes

Boundaries of Tauranga tribes

This map shows the tribal boundaries of the three Tauranga Moana tribes, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāi Te Rangi and Ngāti Pūkenga. Their coastal boundaries extend from Bowentown to Pāpāmoa, while inland they reach from the Ōtawa mountains to the Kaimai Range.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Te Awanuiārangi Black, 'Tauranga Moana - Traditional lands and canoes', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 29 September 2022)

Story by Te Awanuiārangi Black, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2017