Story: Te Whakatōhea

Te Whakatōhea tribal area

Te Whakatōhea tribal area

Te Whakatōhea’s six sub-tribes live in an area bordered by the eastern Bay of Plenty coastline. This extends from Ōhiwa Harbour to Ōpape. Inland, it follows a south-east angle to Matawai.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ranginui Walker, 'Te Whakatōhea - Lands and resources', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 5 December 2023)

Story by Ranginui Walker, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 1 Mar 2017