Story: Antarctica and New Zealand

Antarctic claims and stations

Antarctic claims and stations

Claims to Antarctica have been made by New Zealand, Australia, Britain, Norway, France and Argentina. Brazil has a 'zone of interest', and many other countries have bases (shown on this map as black dots). Although the Antarctic Treaty places some limits on resource extraction, the economic potential of the region has attracted many countries. In the 2000s the Antarctic's fish resources and the possibility of oil attracted attention.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Sources: Base map provided by the Australian Antarctic Data CentreCouncil of Managers of National Antarctic Program (COMNAP)

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Nigel Roberts, 'Antarctica and New Zealand - The Ross Dependency', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 May 2024)

Story by Nigel Roberts, published 20 Jun 2012