Story: Asian conflicts

Malaya and Malaysia

Malaya and Malaysia

The Malayan Emergency was declared in 1948, when Malaya was still a British colony. In 1957 Malaya became independent, although the Emergency was not declared over until 1960. Malaya included only the states of the Malay peninsula. In 1963 it joined with Singapore, Sarawak and North Borneo to form the Federation of Malaysia. On joining the federation North Borneo changed its name to Sabah.  Singapore left the federation in 1965 and became an independent nation.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ian McGibbon, 'Asian conflicts - Shift of focus to South-East Asia', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 13 June 2024)

Story by Ian McGibbon, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2016