Story: Acclimatisation

Fish and game regions

Fish and game regions

New Zealand has 12 regional fish and game organisations, which manage sports fish and game birds and their habitats. The Taupō fishery is managed by the Department of Conservation.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Jan Kelly and Brian Marshall, Atlas of New Zealand boundaries. Auckland: Auckland University Press, 1996, p. 2.13

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Carl Walrond, 'Acclimatisation - Fish and game councils', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 March 2024)

Story by Carl Walrond, published 24 Nov 2008