Story: Tongans



Tonga consists of about 170 islands with a total land area of 700 sq km, stretching from the Tongatapu group in the south, to the Vava‘u group about 330 km north. Tonga was first settled by Polynesians about 3,000 years ago. In 2004 the population was around 100,000.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Melenaite Taumoefolau, 'Tongans - Migrations', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 April 2024)

Story by Melenaite Taumoefolau, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 25 Mar 2015