Story: Ngāti Whātua

Ngāti Whātua tribal area

Ngāti Whātua tribal area

Ngāti Whātua-whānui or Ngāti Whātua-tūturu – ‘wider’ or ‘true’ Ngāti Whātua – refers to a confederation of four tribes: Te Roroa, Te Uri-o-Hau, Te Taoū, and Ngāti Whātua-o-Ōrākei. This map shows their lands, which span the area between the Hokianga Harbour and Tāmaki (Auckland).

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rāwiri Taonui, 'Ngāti Whātua - Origins', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 9 December 2023)

Story by Rāwiri Taonui, published 8 Feb 2005, updated 22 Mar 2017