Story: Newspapers

Location of newspapers, 1839–60

This map shows the location of the 43 newspapers known to have been founded in New Zealand between 1839 and 1860. Their location closely followed the pattern of early European settlement around seaports. One newspaper, the Auckland-based Maori Messenger, appears twice, since it folded in 1854 and began publishing again the following year.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mark Derby, 'Newspapers - First newspapers, 1839–1860', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 1 July 2022)

Story by Mark Derby, published 22 Oct 2014