Story: Protected areas

Marine protected areas map (1st of 3)

This map shows New Zealand’s marine reserves, parks and protected areas in 2014. There were 44 marine reserves, two marine parks, three marine protected areas and six marine mammal sanctuaries.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Les Molloy, 'Protected areas - Protected marine areas and inland waters', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 May 2022)

Story by Les Molloy, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 1 Sep 2015