Story: Plays and playwrights

Bruce Mason Playwriting Award

Since 1983 the $10,000 Bruce Mason Playwriting Award has recognised the work of an outstanding emerging New Zealand playwright. The winner is decided by the votes of a panel of leading New Zealand artistic directors and script advisors. The award is named after the man considered to be New Zealand’s first significant playwright, who died in 1982. It has been funded by Playmarket, the FAME (Fund for Acting and Musical Endeavours) Trust and Downstage Theatre Society. 

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Murray Edmond, 'Plays and playwrights - Theatre into the 2000s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 April 2024)

Story by Murray Edmond, published 22 Oct 2014