Story: Museums

The four major early museums

This interactive map shows the locations of New Zealand's first four major museums. They were Auckland Institute and Museum, founded in 1852; the Canterbury Museum in Christchurch, founded in 1861; the Colonial Museum in Wellington, founded in 1865; and the Otago Museum in Dunedin, founded in 1868.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Conal McCarthy, 'Museums - The foundation years, 1850 to 1900', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 11 December 2023)

Story by Conal McCarthy, published 22 Oct 2014